/  ECCT   /  Latest News   /  ECCT announces 2019 chairman, boards of directors and supervisors

ECCT announces 2019 chairman, boards of directors and supervisors

ECCT members voted in new boards of directors and supervisors for 2019 at the 2018 Annual General Meeting (AGM). Giuseppe Izzo, Managing Director, Taiwan & Vice President, Asia Pacific Region, for STMicroelectronics was elected to serve as chairman in 2019 by the new board of directors at their first meeting, held on the same afternoon as the AGM. Izzo was ECCT Vice Chairman in 2018 and previously served as chairman from 2013-2014.

At the AGM, outgoing (2018) ECCT Chairman Håkan Cervell delivered an annual report to members. Besides the chairman’s report, ECCT Vice Chairman & Treasurer Olivier Rousselet presented a summary of the chamber’s financials while a report was also presented by ECCT Executive Supervisor, Mike Jewell.

In his presentation to members, outgoing Chairman Cervell reported that 2018 was a very successful year for the chamber with frequent engagement with government ministries and agencies throughout the year, helping to further promote members’ business interests.

Membership rose to a record high of over 900 individual members and the quality and participation at events remained very high. A number of successful events were held and, in terms of advocacy, the chamber achieved the highest level of progress in four years with around 22% of the issues raised in its 2018 Position Paper either resolved or making progress towards resolution.

He added that the ECCT had been extremely active during the year, holding activities which included Premium Events, committee meetings and government visits.

High profile activities included the ECCT’s 30th Anniversary Gala Ball, the annual Europe Day Dinner, Premium, Special and Committee events, which attracted high profile guest speakers from Taiwan, elsewhere in Asia and Europe. ECCT members and the secretariat also arranged or participated in numerous conferences, seminars and forums in conjunction with government agencies from both Taiwan and Europe.

In his remarks, Executive Supervisor Mike Jewell, highlighted the ECCT’s excellent relations with the government at all levels, which had resulted in resolving issues such as the ARC number format issue after 10 years of advocacy.

He also congratulated the board and secretariat for surpassing the milestone of 900 individual members, which he said was testament to the chamber’s ability to remain relevant and attractive to companies in both existing and new industry sectors.

He concluded that these developments all highlight the growing recognition and effectiveness of the ECCT as an organization.

At the event remarks were also made by Madeleine Majorenko, Head of the European Economic and Trade Office.

The AGM was followed immediately by the ECCT’s annual Christmas lunch.

2019 Board of Directors 


Giuseppe Izzo, Managing Director, Taiwan & Vice President, Asia Pacific Region, STMicroelectronics Ltd.

Other directors (in alphabetical order)

Reiner Allgeier, Managing Director, Schenker (HK) Ltd., Taiwan Branch

Håkan Cervell, President, Ericsson Taiwan

Kathy Chen, General Manager, Clarins PTE Ltd., Taiwan Branch

Chen Mei-lin, Chief Operating Officer, Richemont Asia Pacific Ltd., Taiwan Branch

H Henry Chang, Principal, Baker & McKenzie

Erdal Elver, President & CEO, Siemens Limited Taiwan

Irene Feng, Managing Director, Nephrocare Asia Pacific Taiwan Branch, Fresenius Medical Care Group

Jan Hollmann, Managing Director, Robert Bosch Taiwan Ltd.

Agatha Lee, Area Head Taiwan, Cathay Pacific Airways

Bart Linssen, Managing Director, Enercon Taiwan

Anjana Narain, Vice President & General Manager, GlaxoSmithKline Far East B.V. Taiwan Branch

Olivier Rousselet, Country Manager, BNP Paribas Taiwan

John Winter, Country Manager, Robert Walters

Francine Wu, CEO, Schroders Investment Management (Taiwan) Limited

Alternate Directors (in order of election)

Olivier Blachier, President, Air Liquide Far Eastern Ltd. & Greater China Cluster Electronics Head

Guillaume de Braquilanges, CFO, Carrefour Taiwan

Eric Yu, General Manager & Global VP, Philips Lighting Taiwan Ltd.

John Pien, General Manager, Grundfos Handels AG Taiwan Branch

Brandon Hsu, Country Manager, Regus Taiwan

2019 Board of Supervisors 

Executive Supervisor

Mike Jewell, Freelance Consultant, Chief Client Officer, Kantar Taiwan - retired

Other Supervisors (in alphabetical order)

Nathan Kaiser, Attorney at Law (Switzerland), Eiger

Thomas Kuiper, Chief Operating Officer, Gandi Asia Ltd

Martin Lindström, Group Director, DFI Home Furnishings Taiwan Limited - IKEA Taiwan

Janne Schneider, CFO & Service Center Manager, The Swatch Group Far Eastern Distribution Ltd Taiwan Branch

Alternate Supervisor

Marc Dancer, Chairman & President, Thales Taiwan Ltd.